Planning & Zoning Commission

The Planning and Zoning Commission serves in an advisory capacity to the City Council and are appointed by the Mayor and approved by the Council.  They are responsible to review all issues related to subdivision development, general planning of City development, and zoning.  They make recommendations to the City Council for final action.

Are you interested in serving on the Planning and Zoning Commission for the City of Waverly? If so, please fill out the Board and Commission Application to be considered. 

Commission Members: 9
Terms: 5 years
Meetings: 1st Thursday of each month at 7:00 p.m.
Appointed by the Mayor with confirmation of the City Council


  • Hank Bagelmann, Chairperson
    • Term Expiration: 05/01/2021
  • Richard Dane
    • Term Expiration: 05/01/2023
  • Mary French
    • Term Expiration: 05/01/2022
  • Douglas Benschoter
    • Term Expiration: 05/01/2025
  • David Huser
    • Term Expiration: 05/01/2025
  • Kathy Olson
    • Term Expiration: 05/01/2023
  • Kathryn Payne, Vice Chairperson
    • Term Expiration: 05/01/2024
  • Heidi Solheim
    • Term Expiration: 05/01/2024
  • Stephanie Garner
    • Term Expiration: 05/01/2021
  • Tim Kangas, Council Member Liaison
    • Term Expiration: 01/02/2021
  • Isaac Pezley, Secretary and Zoning Administrator/Code Enforcement Officer

A high quality of life, friendly and progressive merchants, and a college town atmosphere; this is Waverly, Iowa.