The Waverly Police Department owns a proud heritage of men who served our community since inception. Here is a list of pioneers whose lives were dedicated to the excellence our community values.

Marshall/Chief Service
35th Richard Pursell 2005-present
34th Arthur Simpson 1978-2005
33rd Clarence Wickham 1960-1978
32nd Chris Kemming 1954-1960
31st Burton Bolton 1948-1954
30th A.W. Sauerbry 1945-1948**
29th Burton Bolton 1937-1945
28th W.F. Hayes 1933-1937
27th Wm. B. Ducker 1932-1933
26th Frank G. Mason 1926-1932
25th C.J. Brodie 1921-1926
24th S.L. Hathaway 1919-1921
23rd Geo. W. Beebe Jr. 1919-1919
22nd C.J. Brodie 1918-1919
21st O.E. Cassaday 1917-1918
20th Geo. W. Beebe Jr. 1913-1917
19th J.W. Zoller 1907-1913
18th C.H. Hastings 1903-1907
17th G.H. Dean 1903*
16th A. Van Nondsrand 1899-1903
15th W.S. Chapman 1895-1899
14th L. Selbig 1889-1895
13th Wm. Webber 1888-1889
12th J.F. Boyen 1886-1889
11th Jamin St. John 1885-1886
10th John Mack 1882-1885
9th J.W. Piggott 1879-1882
8th H.B. Ellsworth 1877-1879
7th W.P. McCormack 1876-1877
6th H. Tallet 1875-1876
5th Jas. McCormack 1874-1875
4th J.L. Leonard 1874
3rd Wm. Maxwell 1874
2nd James Hooker 1873-1874
1st H.S. Halbent 1868-1873

* Resigned
** Died in Office

Welcome to Waverly. Great schools. Diverse housing options. Robust job market. Top-flight indoor rec center. Outdoor recreation adventures of all kinds. Prestigious Wartburg College. And a safe and welcoming community of people who value the good life in a beautiful place.