2024 Main Street Iowa Development Awards Honor Outstanding Achievements

posted in Chamber of Commerce on April 25, 2024

April 19, 2024 (Des Moines) - Main Street Iowa hosted the annual Main Street Iowa Development Awards celebration Friday evening in Des Moines. The program honors the efforts of local leaders who work tirelessly to revitalize Iowa’s downtowns and Main Street districts.

Waverly Chamber of Commerce/Main Street Program 2023 Board Chair, Kristin Vowell, was presented with a distinguished Leadership Award. Chamber/Main Street Executive Director, Travis Toliver, represented the Waverly community at the awards ceremony along with Vowell.

Ms. Vowell was the 2023 Waverly Chamber Main Street Board Chair and is a valuable community leader. In addition to her work to push forward the organization’s 5-year strategic plan, Kristin was instrumental with helping to tell the program’s story better by inviting local business owners to give short value-based testimonials at quarterly city council updates. A graduate of Wartburg college, Kristin and her family enjoy living in the community and give back through their service to others.

Debi Durham, executive director of the Iowa Economic Development Authority (IEDA) and Iowa Finance Authority (IFA), and Michael Wagler, Main Street Iowa state coordinator, presented the honors.

“The Main Street Iowa program stands as one of the nation’s most distinguished, as witnessed from the award-winning projects in rehabilitation, business recruitment and support, façade improvement, housing, placemaking and special events,” said Iowa Economic Development Authority (IEDA) and Iowa Finance Authority (IFA) Director Debi Durham. “It's evident that Main Street Iowa communities thrive under passionate leadership, achieving remarkable success."

"Seeing the impactful efforts of local Main Street program staff, volunteers, and communities is inspiring," said Michael Wagler, Main Street Iowa State Coordinator. "With significant growth in businesses jobs, and investments across communities of all sizes, these districts serve as inspiring examples of what's achievable for Iowa's downtowns."

A detailed list of all 2024 Main Street Iowa Award winners is available here.

Main Street Iowa was established in 1985 and operates as a part of the IEDA’s Downtown Resource Center. Since its inception, the Main Street Iowa program has had a significant impact on Iowa’s economy, including more than $2.7 billion in private investments, more than 3.8 million volunteer hours, more than 5,500 new businesses created and more than 16,600 jobs.

For more information about Main Street Iowa and how all Iowa communities can access commercial revitalization assistance through the Iowa Downtown Resource Center, visit iowaeda.com/downtown-resource-center, email Michael.Wagler@iowaeda.com or call 515.348.6184.

Welcome to Waverly. Great schools. Diverse housing options. Robust job market. Top-flight indoor rec center. Outdoor recreation adventures of all kinds. Prestigious Wartburg College. And a safe and welcoming community of people who value the good life in a beautiful place.