2024 Annual Awards Celebration

posted in Chamber of Commerce on April 1, 2024

Waverly, IA – The Waverly Chamber of Commerce held their 48th Annual Awards Celebration on Thursday, March 28, 2024. This year’s awards ceremony was again held in the Knights Ballroom at Wartburg College’s Saemann Student Center.
Waverly Chamber of Commerce Main Street Executive Director, Travis Toliver, welcomed over 130 attendees from Waverly’s business community to the event before introducing 2023 Board Chair, Kristin Vowell. Vowell highlighted the Chamber’s achievements over the past year before introducing 2024 Board Chair, Bob Buckingham, who spoke to the organization’s future under his leadership.

Toliver then introduced the various award sponsors who presented this year’s recipients. The award presenters are listed below, along with the award recipients.

The Wartburg College Community Service Award: presented by Wartburg College Vice President for Student Life and Dean of Students – Greg Kneser

2024 Recipient: Ed Klamfoth for his 11 years of service to the community being the Superintendent of Schools for the W-SR Community School District.

The Signs & Designs Distinguished Small Business Award: presented by Owner – Melissa Barber

2024 Recipient: Waverly Newspapers for their 168 years of serving the community through news reporting, going against the trend of most newspapers going completely digital, and being a reliable source of Waverly’s history.

The United Equipment Accessories Distinguished Large Business Award: presented by UEA Client Relations and Strategic Pricing Manager – Thor Larson

2024 Recipient: Baker Enterprises Inc. for their long-time commitment to the Waverly community and investing in expanding their business through more jobs and a new facility on the east side of Waverly when they could have chosen any location in the Cedar Valley.

The Waverly Health Center Distinguished Non-Profit Award: presented by Waverly Health Center CEO – Jodi Geerts

2024 Recipient: Bremer County Historical Society and Museum for their over 60 years of service to the county preserving several artifacts from our past and creating innovated ways to keep the past relevant with young people of today.

The First Bank Lifetime Achievement Award: presented by First Bank President – Steve Willemssen

2024 Recipient: Susan Vallem for her many years of service to the community through her work on the Waverly Health Center Board of Trustees and Foundation and being an advocate for mental healthcare in our country.

To view more pictures of the event, visit facebook.com/WaverlyChamberofCommerce.


The Waverly Chamber of Commerce Main Street Program develops and sustains dynamic, progressive programs supporting the economic and business environment to provide a quality experience for residents and visitors to our community and historic downtown district.

Welcome to Waverly. Great schools. Diverse housing options. Robust job market. Top-flight indoor rec center. Outdoor recreation adventures of all kinds. Prestigious Wartburg College. And a safe and welcoming community of people who value the good life in a beautiful place.