Leisure Services Commission

The Leisure Services Commission serves in an advisory capacity to the City Council on matters related to Parks, Golf Course, Pro Shop, Cemetery, Leisure Swimming Pool, and Civic Center operations and facilities. They work closely with the City Leisure Services staff.

Current Commissioners

Joel Johnson, Chair
johnson1508@mediacombb.net
Term Exp. December 31, 2021

Angela Brunssen
angiebrunssen@gmail.com
Term Exp. December 31, 2023

James Carver
james.carver50@gmail.com
Term Exp. December 31, 2021

Randy Neuendorf
randy.neuendorf@gmail.com
Term Exp. December 31, 2021

Brian Pins
bpins@waverlyhealthcenter.org
Term Exp. December 31, 2022

Derek Solheim, Vice Chair
derek.solheim@wartburg.edu
Term Exp. December 31, 2023

Tara Winter
tara.winter@wartburg.edu
Term Exp. December 31, 2022

Brian Birgen, Council Liaison
bbirgen@waverlyia.com
Term Exp. January 1, 2022

Garret Riordan, Leisure Services Director
Call: (319) 352-6263


Members: 7
Terms: 3 years
Meetings: 3rd Thursday of each month at 7:00 p.m.
Appointed by the Mayor with confirmation of the City Council.


Are you interested in serving on the Leisure Services Commission for the City of Waverly? If so, please fill out the Board and Commission Application to be considered. 

Welcome to Waverly. Great schools. Diverse housing options. Robust job market. Top-flight indoor rec center. Outdoor recreation adventures of all kinds. Prestigious Wartburg College. And a safe and welcoming community of people who value the good life in a beautiful place.